It Will Be Alright Tomorrow!

image
It will be alright! 

Recently we were talking with some of my husband’s old friends from high school when my husband shared an inside laugh about “it will be alright tomorrow” with his old buddy. Then his wife said “is that where that comes from?!? He says that all the time when I’m upset about something!” We all laughed

It will be alright tomorrow! I love this! What a great perspective. What a great reminder. It WILL be alright tomorrow!

Or probably even in just a few short minutes for that matter. Sometimes we let the smallest of things that don’t even really matter steal our joy and thus get caught in a round about of anxiety and irritation.
I wish I was saying this from simply observing the world around me and others’ reactions to everyday circumstances. But I am probably one of the worst offenders I know.
Somehow I have a database of idealistic layouts of days in the life of me (and everyone around me) and when things don’t go according to the vivid pictures in my head I start surrendering my joy, one frustrating moment at a time.

So, let’s spin this and do a re-frame….what if those interruptions are meant to give me a fresh perspective instead and actually restore some joy? Maybe “meant to” isn’t always appropriate but I’m confident that most of these moments have the potential to do so if I would let them. Or perhaps they may give me an idea to share in writing or in speaking to someone. Maybe sometimes they are a slap in the face way to show me the precious moments I miss as I blaze through life attempting to check all the boxes on the relentless to do list of life that is never fully satisfied.

I believe in order to see these interruptions or plans gone amiss in this light though, we really have to look for the possible lesson or positive spin and purposely “re-frame” the situation using a different thought process.

As a mom, some days feel as if they are predominantly characterized by cleaning up messes and re-doing or simply getting back to ground zero, as I refer to it….meaning I only had time for the every day mundane tasks that never seem to end like laundry & dishes and feel like not much true progression was made since so many little unexpected things came up. I was having one of these such days the other day when I decided to go in the bathroom to take a few deep breaths, wash my face and re-fix my hair and feel a little more put together, when I opened the drawer to find it full of a half a tube of toothpaste that had somehow mysteriously (no one seemed to know what happened😳) squeezed out😂 And then I remembered something I once heard in a leadership talk: PPPP Pause, Ponder, Pray, Proceed. I love this reminder. Most of these small little issues aren’t worth the drama we create about them or the emotional energy spent on them. And, it will totally be alight tomorrow!😉

It WILL be alright tomorrow. It always is. The sun rises every day and mercy is new every morning. There’s always another chance to make better decisions.

Just like the girl’s husband in my story example; what a blessing it is to have someone around us to remind us that it will be alright tomorrow and bring fresh perspective when we can’t seem to find it ourselves. Recall the popular lingo, “don’t sweat the small stuff?” So true. It’s never worth it and life is too short & precious to be freely giving our time away to useless joy robbers. So, when mistakes are made, life is interrupted, and things don’t go as planned, remind yourself: it will be alright tomorrow!!

Leave a Reply

